Friday, March 09, 2007

January 27, 2007 to February 3, 2007

Wherein part 1 of comments from here


I hate New Blogger

bill said... 1/27/2007 11:31:00 AM
blogger wants to force me to use the new blogger. This requires running the blog thru a google account. I don't want to do this as things work perfectly fine the way they are. Subsequently, this blog might be dead.bye, for now.

reader_iam said... 1/30/2007 07:10:00 PM
How can they "force" you?I hope they don't REALLY insist on this. We have not upgraded yet due to problems I've been having with upgraded blogs. The biggest one is that, on many of the upgraded blogs, the Google component wants to default my real name into Blogger comments. While it's true that I have several gmail accounts, mostly affiliated with clients, I have never in any way used my real name in connection with Blogger. Somehow, once Google got Blogger and started this new thing, it's merged the info and wants to "force me" to use one of my Google account names, especially the "real one." In a number of cases, even where it gives the option to use the Blogger name, it won't really let me do that. After I got caught on a couple of blogs (thank goodness the trash can was still operable in one notable case), I now always double-check to see how they've got me defaulted, and if it won't default to reader_iam, I simply won't comment there anymore.I share this not to whine--I've cut way back on commenting this last month or so anyway--but to see if others are having the same problems. And to say that we don't want to so-called "upgrade" either!!!!
bill said... 1/31/2007 05:58:00 AM

1. I select Old Blogger.

2. Enter username and password.

3. Next screen is "Move your account to use the new Blogger. Enter password again and accept Terms of Service. No way to ignore it.My guess that they're "upgrading" everyone in groups. Sooner or later you'll have no choice. Your problem is weird--and potentially hazardous. My guess is that when this happens you've used one of
your other gmail accounts and you've set the option "remember me on this computer" (or whatever it's called). Try to comment somewhere else and it thinks
you're one person, not the other.


reader_iam said... 2/01/2007 01:01:00 PM
Hmm. Good thought, Bill. I have all of my gmail accounts set up to "remember," I believe, on at least one of the computers I regularly use.Maybe I should undo that. Interesting.Shouldn't happen in any case, that merger, for reasons you clearly grasped--and not just, or even mostly, having to do with blogging, but rather more generally, in terms of implications.I'll try that. Even if it fixes the issue, however, I'm keeping my eyebrow raised at Google/Blogger.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home